Injured At Work? What Is The Next Step?
Houston Workers Compensation Laws
It is estimated that 8,000 people are injured on the job each day. Thirteen people die each day from an injury on the job. Texas leads the country in workplace injuries. Texas has a no-fault workers compensation program. This means that people can get compensated for their injuries regardless of who caused the injury.
People will typically be able to get up to 2/3 of their wages. They can also get compensation for mental anguish, disfigurement, pain, suffering and medical bills.
What to do if You are Injured
You will need to seek medical help as soon as possible if you are injured on the job. You are required to see a physician that has been authorized by the Workers Compensation Board. However, if it is emergency, then you can see any doctor that you want to.
Make sure that you follow all of the instructions that your doctor recommends. You may also be required to attend an independent medical examination. You should not go back to work until you get cleared from the doctor.
You will also need to report the accident as soon as possible. You will have 30 days to report the injury. If you do not report it within 30 days, then you may lose your right to file for workers’ compensation. You can fill out the forms and send them to the workers compensation board.
Contact The Law Office of D’Ann Hinkle
You may be able to get additional compensation for the injury that you have suffered. If negligence contributed to the injury, then you will need to hire a Houston personal attorney. A Houston personal injury lawyer will review your case and determine whether you are eligible to get compensation. This compensation can be used to pay your medical bills and make up for your lost time at work.